NEO-PUFAs, Isoprostanoids: Promising Oxygenated Metabolites of omega-3 and omega-6 PUFAs

Presented by: Professor Thierry Durand

Synopsis

5pm GMT/9am PST/12pm EST

About Professor Thierry Durand

Thierry Durand studied chemistry at University of Paris VI, then moved to Montpellier and received his PhD degree at University of Montpellier I in 1990. After a postdoctoral training at FIT in Melbourne, USA, with Joshua Rokach, Thierry became Chargé de Recherche CNRS at the University of Montpellier I in 1991. He finished his Habilitation in 1996 and became Directeur de Recherche CNRS in 2002. Thierry is a group leader at IBMM, Montpellier. His research interests include the total synthesis of oxygenated cyclic and non cyclic metabolites of PUFAs, mainly leukotrienes, iso-, phyto- and neuroprostanes/furans, as well as dihydroxylated PUFAs, branched fatty acids termed FAHFAs, lipophenols, lipopeptides and lipooxadiazolones and more recently targeted lipidomics on isoprostanoids (NEO-PUFAs) in human, animal and vegetable matrices. Thierry is developing collaborations all over the word in the different fields linked to oxidative stress, biomarkers and all the biomolecules mentioned above. Thierry published more than 350 scientific articles/reviews in peer reviews and received the Chevreul medal in 2018, from the SFEL.

September 21st, 2021
5pm BST | 9am PDT | 12pm EDT
Register Now!
Image of Professor Thierry Durand Professor Thierry Durand