LIPID MAPS Webinar Series
— How to navigate the omics of sphingo and glycosphingo lipidomics

Presented by Professor Al Merrill

The LIPID MAPS Webinar Series will feature presentations from several lipidomics experts who will introduce basic features related to structure, function, and metabolism, and discuss biochemistry and analysis of various lipid classes.


Professor Al Merrill
Smithgall Institute Chair of Molecular Cell Biology in the School of Biological Sciences and the Petit Institute for Bioengineering and Biosciences at Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.
How to navigate the omics of sphingo and glycosphingo lipidomics:

Part I. Basic sphingolipidology (structures, metabolism, functions and roles in disease)
Wednesday, Oct 2nd, 2019
9am PDT / 12pm EDT / 5pm BST / 12am (Oct 3rd) CST
Register for Part I
Part II. Analytical methods and challenges
Tuesday, Oct 15th, 2019
9am PDT / 12pm EDT / 5pm BST / 12am (Oct 16th) CST
Register for Part II
About Professor Merrill

Al has studied sphingolipids for nearly forty years and his laboratory and collaborators have contributed to our understanding of sphingolipid structure and function, metabolism, and interrelationships between sphingolipids and disease. He and Dr. Cameron Sullards, who is now with Avanti Polar Lipids, were the directors of the Sphingolipid and Glycosphingolipid Core Laboratory for the first decade of LIPID MAPS, and he now serves as a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee.